|  IEEE Xplore Digital Library  |  IEEE Standards  |  IEEE Spectrum  |  More Sites IEEE

IEEE-USA Home: Volunteers: Awards

Quick Links

Volunteer Info
IEEE-USA President
Volunteer Leaders
PACE Network
Event Calendar

  Awards & Recognitions
Board of Directors
Governing Documents
U.S. Regions Links
How to Volunteer
Development Support

  Intro to IEEE-USA
IEEE-USA History
Staff Contacts
Staff Profiles
Visiting the DC Office

2014 AAES Awards

2014 AAES Awards:  Honoring People for their Contributions to Engineering and to Society

Awards Summary
The American Association of Engineering Societies annually presents the following awards:

  • National Engineering Award
    The National Engineering Award is presented for inspirational leadership and tireless devotion to the improvement of engineering education and to the advancement of the engineering profession, as well as to the development of sound public policies as an engineer-statesman.

  • Kenneth Andrew Roe Award
    The Kenneth Andrew Roe Award is presented on behalf of the engineering community to recognize an engineer who has been effective in promoting unity among the engineering societies.

  • Norm Augustine Award for Outstanding Achievement in Engineering Communications
    This award is presented annually to an engineer who has demonstrated the capacity for communicating the excitement and wonder of engineering. The award is to be conferred on those rare individuals who can speak with passion about engineering – its promise as well as its responsibility – so that the public may have a better understanding of engineering and a better appreciation for how engineers improve our quality of life.

  • John Fritz Medal
    The John Fritz Medal, referred to as the highest award in the engineering profession, is presented each year for scientific or industrial achievement in any field of pure or applied science. It was established in 1902 as a memorial to the great engineer whose name it bears.

  • AAES Engineering Journalism Award
    The Engineering Journalism Award recognizes outstanding reporting of an event or issue that furthers public understanding of engineering.

  • Joan Hodges Queneau Palladium Medal
    The Joan Hodges Queneau Medal recognizes an individual who encourages cooperation between engineering professionals and environmentalists to create innovative solutions to environmental problems.

  • AAES Chair's Award
    The AAES Chair’s Award is presented by the AAES Chair to recognize an individual who has made outstanding contributions to the welfare of our nation. Not open to nominations.

Call for Nominations
The nomination deadline for IEEE members is 15 September; awards will be presented at the AAES Awards Banquet held in the Great Hall at the National Academy of Sciences, 2101 Constitution Ave, N.W., in Washington, DC, 28 April 2014 in conjunction with the 2014 NAE/AAES Convocation and AAES Board of Directors Meeting.


The AAES Executive Committee has confirmed the following past practices:

  1. Unsuccessful nominations are automatically carried over to the next selection cycle, making candidates eligible for two additional years of consideration, unless the nomination is withdrawn by the nominating society.

  2. Nominating societies may have only one candidate under consideration in each award category.

  3. Award recipients are expected to commit to attend the Awards Banquet, to receive their award.

  4. Except in the instance of sudden illness or extraordinary circumstance award winners are expected to honor this commitment.


| Top of Page | Awards & Recognition Committee | Career & Education | IEEE-USA |

Updated: 5 April 2013
Contact: Chris Brantley,


 Copyright © 2017 IEEE

Terms & Conditions - Privacy and Security - Nondiscrimination Policy - Contacts/Info