IEEE-USA is thrilled to announce the following recipients of the 2021 IEEE-USA Awards. Thank you to everyone who submitted a nomination, and congratulations to all the honorees!

IEEE-USA John Meredith Professional Service Award
To recognize key individuals for outstanding IEEE-USA volunteer efforts and contributions.

  • Thomas Pierpoint
    For significantly enhancing the effectiveness of the IEEE-USA Energy Policy Committee and its contribution to the public good.

IEEE-USA Award for Distinguished Public Service
To honor an individual not currently in the practice of engineering for contributions in furthering the professional goals of IEEE in the United States by such means as (but not limited to) influencing laws or regulations benefiting the profession, industrial environments to foster professionalism curricula, or publications designed to enhance professionalism and other similar activities.

  • Dr. Sethuraman Panchanathan
    For achievements, leadership, service to humanity, and outstanding contributions in the fields of science and engineering

IEEE-USA George F. McClure Citation of Honor
To honor IEEE members who have made exemplary contributions toward securing recognition of professional activities in the United States.

  • Dr. Guruprasad Madhavan
    For outstanding leadership in advancing engineering professionalism through public policy, programs, and engagement.
  • Dr. Azad Madni
    For sustained excellence, dedicated commitment, and contributions to the socio-economic and diversity aspects of IEEE professional activities in the United States

IEEE-USA Entrepreneur Achievement Award for Leadership in Entrepreneurial Spirit
To recognize a key individual who has been instrumental in furthering both entrepreneurial growth and spirit in the United States.

  • Dr. Ronjon Nag
    For significant and sustained impact to engineering entrepreneurship, technical mentorship, and mobile technology advancements in the United States

IEEE-USA Harry Diamond Memorial Award
To honor individuals for distinguished technical contributions in the field of electrotechnology while in U.S. Government service.

  • Dr. Charles Kamhoua
    For contribution and leadership in the area of blockchain and game theory for cybersecurity while in U.S. Government service.


There are no recipients this year for the following awards:

  • IEEE-USA Jim Watson Student Professional Awareness Achievement Award
  • IEEE-USA K-12 STEM Literacy Educator-Engineer Partnership Award
  • IEEE-USA Robert S. Walleigh Award for Distinguished Contributions to Engineering Professionalism
  • Award for Distinguished Literary Contributions Furthering Public Understanding and the Advancement of the Engineering Profession
  • Board Special Citation

Nominations for the 2022 IEEE-USA Awards will open on April 1, 2022.


For more information, please contact:
David Iams
Senior Manager, Career and Professional Activities