WASHINGTON (27 May 2020) – IEEE-USA supports the Endless Frontier Act (EFA), a bold step towards ensuring America’s global technological leadership through the rest of this century. The bill was unveiled today by Senate Minority Leader Charles Schumer (D-NY) and the bicameral coalition of Sen. Todd Young (R-Ind.), and Representatives Ro Khanna (D-Calif.) and Mike Gallagher (R-Wis.).

The EFA will provide significant investment in research, education, training, entrepreneurship, and the broader innovation ecosystem nationwide. It will prioritize key technologies, such as artificial intelligence, quantum computing, semiconductors, robotics, biotechnology, cybersecurity and advanced communications, all of which are vital for the industries and jobs of the future.

Technological innovation and research provide the bulk of both job and wage growth in the United States. The EFA will provide needed focus in this area, prioritizing our entire research infrastructure: universities, national labs, industry, start-ups, workers and students, all of which are essential for America’s long-term prosperity.

“COVID-19 has highlighted the need for more research, development and production based in the United States,” said Will Robinson, 2020 Vice President of Government Relations, IEEE-USA. “Innovation from all corners of this country is key to addressing the problems brought about by our current medical and economic situation, and ensuring that we are prepared for whatever the future brings. The Endless Frontier Act is precisely the visionary program the United States needs.”

The Endless Frontier Act bill text can be found here and a summary can be found here.


IEEE-USA serves the public good and promotes the careers and public policy interests of nearly 180,000 engineering, computing and technology professionals who are U.S. members of IEEE, the world’s largest technical professional organization.

Visit us online at ieeeusa.org, follow us on Twitter, like us on Facebook,  follow us on Instagram and check us out on LinkedIn.


Corey Ruth
Media Relations Associate, IEEE-USA

Russell Harrison
Director of Government Relations, IEEE-USA